Author
Message
CrispyG4
Veteran
Joined: 01 Aug 2004 Posts: 110 Location: Miami, 305 till I die
tubbytango wrote:
Either way, having as many people as possible looking at this can't hurt.
Keep in mind we don't know this is related at all, it's still just speculation.
Well, the website is definitely related to Super 8. Dunno what else you mean. Not saying that it isn't worth a look, but it's definitely a countdown.
_________________I'm not sick, but I'm not well
And it's a sin, to live this well...
Played: ThisIsNotPorn, ILB (1Lt. Crispy)
Playing: With myself.
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:43 am
tubbytango
Decorated
Joined: 13 Jan 2008 Posts: 236 Location: Tennessee
I mean, i'm 99% convinced, I'm just saying that I've been this sure about other ARG things and seen them fall through.
I'm excited, and will for sure keep my eye here though.
_________________Currently Playing :
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:45 am
blaqueice
Decorated
Joined: 15 Jun 2005 Posts: 273 Location: Vancouver, Canada
just wondering...
how closely should we watch http://500rads.blogspot.com/
the most recent post directly refers to the Super 8 trailer...
I did not take part in the Cloverfield arg...do I need to back track on this blog?
_________________---------------------------
cityofdomes
|
ARGTalk
|
You Suck At Photoshop
| Aguatero Industries | Super8
---------------------------
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:48 am
tubbytango
Decorated
Joined: 13 Jan 2008 Posts: 236 Location: Tennessee
I'm a noob.
_________________Currently Playing :
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:53 am
Last edited by tubbytango on Fri May 07, 2010 2:05 am; edited 1 time in total
CrispyG4
Veteran
Joined: 01 Aug 2004 Posts: 110 Location: Miami, 305 till I die
Was it ever actually mentioned on the ScariestThing website? If not, ignore the Rads website. It's a game hijack.
If they have a legit web domain for the main game site, they're not gonna use a shitty blogspot website for another website.
It's completely unrelated until actually mentioned on the main game's website. Use that as the rule of thumb.
_________________I'm not sick, but I'm not well
And it's a sin, to live this well...
Played: ThisIsNotPorn, ILB (1Lt. Crispy)
Playing: With myself.
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:56 am
vapor
Entrenched
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Posts: 1185 Location: Dallas, TX ya'll
I've only heard mention of 500rads.blogspot in a few random posts here and there and remember it being pegged as a game hijack. Really doesn't seem to be IG.
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:59 am
count cupid
Veteran
Joined: 13 Dec 2007 Posts: 86 Location: San Antonio. TX
blaqueice wrote:
just wondering...
how closely should we watch http://500rads.blogspot.com/
the most recent post directly refers to the Super 8 trailer...
I did not take part in the Cloverfield arg...do I need to back track on this blog?
The consensus is pretty much that it's fake.
There's a couple of threads about it if you'd like to look through them.
http://forums.unfiction.com/forums/index.php?f=232
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:59 am
Euchre
uF Game Warden
Joined: 29 Aug 2007 Posts: 3338
That blog has been dubious at best, pretty much shown to be OOG. The key factor to note is that all the info there relative to the trailer and such is showing up in a sort of reactive manner. Nothing in the trailer points to it either. In the Cloverfield viral the trailer pointed to a pair of sites (1-18-08.com and slusho.jp) to which all the other sites basically directly connected. When new things appeared on official sites like the first mention of kaitei no mitsu, the other site(s) where it was found had content predating the official site's emergence of info. There was also a recursive validation of sorts, like how Tagruato.jp pointed to Slusho.jp, but never pointed to the gamejack site for the Bold Futura subsidiary.
Another telling thing is that 500rads has made many references to Cloverfield and is supposed to be happening in real time, not in the past as Super 8 is, and JJ Abrams has said this is 'unrelated'. I don't think JJ wants to contradict himself so badly here, and he never actually managed to do so for Cloverfield.
Looking at the trailer, I honestly see a lot of Spielberg's influence here.
_________________Any sufficiently plausible fiction is indistinguishable from reality.
Any sufficiently twisted reality is indistinguishable from fiction.
Welcome to the new world of entertainment.
ŠEuchre 2007
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:01 am
vapor
Entrenched
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Posts: 1185 Location: Dallas, TX ya'll
I'm really excited about this game now.
I see 20 [ ] slots so I'm hoping for a lot of content
*crosses finger*
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:14 am
kosmopol
Pretty talky there aintcha, Talky?
Joined: 27 Aug 2007 Posts: 2820
Wow people, great job everybody!
That looks awesome!
This is all I can add now, because I have to borrow my laptop for some hours, and perhaps cannot analyze the program from another pc.
But I'm happy, they are doing it again.
_________________
kosmopol Merzmensch : http://merzmensch.blogspot.com
Star Trek ARG Chat
Speaks German/Russian/Japanese
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:29 am
vapor
Entrenched
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Posts: 1185 Location: Dallas, TX ya'll
Ok so now the number 1 slot says "previously accessed". The countdown is still going, though.
Description
Filesize
5.39KB
Viewed
1780 Time(s)
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:43 am
Animaniac
Unfettered
Joined: 03 Oct 2007 Posts: 385
at the site http://www.super8-movie.com/
Like the trailer, there is also something written in the film going by the lens. More than one grouping of letters. At first I assumed it was the scariestthingIeversaw again, but I see an L, K, and a Z in there.. My brain can't quite catch it, anyone able to freezeframe or hack the flash to read it?
_________________It is by Slusho alone I set my zoom in motion.
It is by the katei no mitsu that thoughts acquire happiness,
the tongue acquires flavor. The flavor becomes more than 6.
It is by Slusho alone I set my zoom in motion.
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 2:48 am
dharma22
Veteran
Joined: 08 Aug 2008 Posts: 103
I checked the source code of "scariestthingieversaw.com" and I noticed a long line of letters and numbers. Here's a section:
%3C%73%63%72%69%70%74%20%74%79%70%65%3D%22%74%65%78%74%2F%6A%61%76%61%73%63%
Is it just part of the website coding?
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 3:06 am
amandel
I Never Tire of My Own Voice
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 3683 Location: Nederland
dharma22, your string converted from Hex reads: "<script type="text/javasc". So that's page code. Am also keen for news.
_________________ "I could write a hell of a paper on a grown man who dresses like a flying rodent."
"Can you hook up with a Snow Person? Can't tell you or I'd have to marry you."
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 3:23 am
kosmopol
Pretty talky there aintcha, Talky?
Joined: 27 Aug 2007 Posts: 2820
Am I wrong with the countdown, or in 7 days there will something happen?
Because:
Code:
134640-8083 (current count) = 126557
126557x5 (because 1 counts 5 sec) = 632785
632785 / 60 Sec. = 10546.416~ min
10546.416~ / 60 min = 175.77361~ hours =
175.77361~ / 24 hours = 7.323 days.
Hypothesis: each slot is the next step to the story, and will be unlocked after a countdown.
BTW: Countdown as Download count is kinda cool!
P.S. Note the header of http://www.scariestthingieversaw.com/:
1-18-08.com had "--" in its header.
Ergo: the same puppetmaster?
_________________
kosmopol Merzmensch : http://merzmensch.blogspot.com
Star Trek ARG Chat
Speaks German/Russian/Japanese
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 3:41 am
Display posts from previous: All Posts 1 Day 1 Week 2 Weeks 1 Month 3 Months 6 Months 1 Year Sort by: Post Time Post Subject Author Ascending Descending