Author
Message
Kurticus
Guest
What's the verdict on Facebook? At some point in this arg's life we have deemed the Josh Minker Facebook page oog but are we sure? There has been some activity recently that makes me curious.
"He" posted this secret code yesterday.
"16 12 5 1 19 5 8 5 12 16 13 5 6 9 14 4 8 9 13 9 11 14 15 23 8 5 14 5 5 4 19 13 25 8 5 12 16 1 14 4 9 1 13 1 12 15 14 5 9 14 13 25 19 5 1 18 3 8"
Some people translated it and it says
"Please help me find him. I know he needs my help, and I am alone in my search."
What do you think?
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:01 pm
VxMurDokxV
Boot
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 47
Some people (including me) believe that it is oog.
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:05 pm
Kurticus
Guest
What is some of the evidence that makes you think it's oog?
Now that I think about it I also think they aren't real because if it were in game the arg mods would want it to look realistic so we would probably see actual photo's of josh in his day to day life. All the pictures on the 5 Josh Minker pages are just photos we've seen from Craislist and such.
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:13 pm
gimmypig
Veteran
Joined: 14 May 2010 Posts: 78 Location: Staffordshire, UK
If it was in game it would be the same email addy that is on hooklineandminker. None of the facebook ones are hlm1963SPLAT yahoo.com, but hlm1963SPLAT live.com or @whatever.com!
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:14 am
Melodyman
Entrenched
Joined: 28 Nov 2007 Posts: 827 Location: Los Angeles
If Josh were captured and being held against his will, it would seem that if he could get to a computer to post a call for help it wouldnt be on Facebook,... I dont think he would start posting puzzles and codes to anyone who might see it.. rather he would try and find a way to contact Mysterioso on the PDP 11 secure chatsite and shout for help..or at least post on his HLM site, but not Facebook and not puzzles and codes..
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:36 am
jenderalcilik
Boot
Joined: 05 Jan 2011 Posts: 22
maybe that'll going to be the easiest 'secret code' we've ever solved
_________________#159 jenderalcilik
Super Speedflier Fleet - from Indonesia reporting for duty!
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:11 pm
multipsychoapopheniosis
Unfettered
Joined: 22 May 2010 Posts: 325
This is 100% oog, no doubt. Bit of debate here onwards:
If you read through a few pages, you'll probably spot the (suspected) owner of the FB page at some point.
To summarise the evidence (again):
1. The "i love you mom" Youtube was found by googling hooklineandminker, and appeared after the horse had bolted.
2. Also that appeared was the clearly dubious meemi (with very amateur photos), again a google search hit some time after the info was released
3. Youtube was linked to meemi using some weak +1 code.
4. Facebook is intimately tied to all of the above, and anyone can set up an account by "changing existing details". I think the fact they linked all of them was one of several fundamental flaws
5. Anyone can post onto facebook, especially once the images are available
6. The IG email is not hlm1963SPLATlive.com
The only reason to indulge that page is to waste their time.
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 12:49 am
kosmopol
Pretty talky there aintcha, Talky?
Joined: 27 Aug 2007 Posts: 2820
Plus Josh Minker is friend of Sakura Okamoto, who is as far as I know a character of another gamejack - or shall I say "fan fiction"? - after Cloverfield ARG.
I mean, fun fiction is OK and fine, untill it begins to play with ambition to be an official part of the story. And this lets people only to irritation and frustration.
_________________
kosmopol Merzmensch : http://merzmensch.blogspot.com
Star Trek ARG Chat
Speaks German/Russian/Japanese
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:55 am
Display posts from previous: All Posts 1 Day 1 Week 2 Weeks 1 Month 3 Months 6 Months 1 Year Sort by: Post Time Post Subject Author Ascending Descending