Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
m62259
Wait

Wait a sec go to blackcloud.org/login please

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:30 am
catherwood
lego606 wrote:
This was reported to me as being part of a MacArthur-sponsored ARG that would be upcoming. Prolly shouldn't have taken it at face value.


Perhaps the message to you was unclear; perhaps the people behind that domain did something in the past but are also going to work on something to come in the future. Either way, I don't see anything there (right now)/(for us), but we can check back in a few months.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:29 pm
lego606
catherwood wrote:
this appears to be one of a set of 5 domains, all on the same IP, registered to the same entity:
UC Berkeley Department of Art Practice

http://www.ALOKADALKHADRAA.ORG
http://www.BLACKCLOUD.ORG
http://www.DAILYPOLLUTER.ORG
http://www.F1RSTBREATH.ORG
http://www.XYLONAMERICA.COM

The /images/ directory is accessible, and the index timestamps there show this has been around for years. It is quite likely that the MacArthur Foundation gave them some grant money for an artistic project of some kind. Probably not a trailhead.

Here's a year-old reference i found:
Quote:
Antero Garcia and Greg Niemeyer of BlackCloud.org from the 2008 HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Digital Media & Learning competition

on http://www.hastac.org/blogs/slgrant/diversifying-participation (dated Feb 07, 2010)


This was reported to me as being part of a MacArthur-sponsored ARG that would be upcoming. Prolly shouldn't have taken it at face value.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:25 pm
catherwood
this appears to be one of a set of 5 domains, all on the same IP, registered to the same entity:
UC Berkeley Department of Art Practice

http://www.ALOKADALKHADRAA.ORG
http://www.BLACKCLOUD.ORG
http://www.DAILYPOLLUTER.ORG
http://www.F1RSTBREATH.ORG
http://www.XYLONAMERICA.COM

The /images/ directory is accessible, and the index timestamps there show this has been around for years. It is quite likely that the MacArthur Foundation gave them some grant money for an artistic project of some kind. Probably not a trailhead.

Here's a year-old reference i found:
Quote:
Antero Garcia and Greg Niemeyer of BlackCloud.org from the 2008 HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Digital Media & Learning competition

on http://www.hastac.org/blogs/slgrant/diversifying-participation (dated Feb 07, 2010)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:16 pm
SpaceBass
I am confused by the mostly empty site and lack of any additional info. Why did you say it was sponsored by the MacArthur Foundation?

Trailheads generally go in News & Rumors. I can move if given a bit more context...

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:04 pm
lego606
[TRAILHEAD] http://www.blackcloud.org/
Didn't know where else to put this...

http://www.blackcloud.org/

Apparently sponsored by the MacArthur Foundation

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:31 pm
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group